Dagmar Butte

Dagmar Butte

Parker, Butte & Lane, PC

1200 NW Naito Parkway, Suite 200
Portland, OR 97209
Phone: (503) 241-1320
Fax: (503) 323-9058


Dagmar Butte’s Story

Dagmar’s area of expertise is Business and Family Immigration and International Business/Corporate Law, focusing on employment-based visas and corporate immigration as well as permanent resident petitions in high technology, education and medical industries. She serves as outside immigration counsel for Oregon Health and Science University, George Fox University, Oregon State University, the International Law Students’ Association and Mercy Corps, and is Adjunct Professor of Law at Northwestern School of Law at Lewis and Clark College.

Dagmar is Oregon’s first Elected Member of the AILA Board of Governors and is a past Oregon Chapter Chair. She served on specific AILA ad hoc committees and task forces that assisted ICE with the development of family detention standards, reviewed and provided suggested language for legislation in relation to various aspects of comprehensive immigration reform including EOIR reform and judicial review.

She is currently Chair of AILA National’s USCIS Service Center Operations Committee and a member of the USCIS Headquarters Committee, and served for several years as chair of AILA National’s Removal/Detention/Due Process Committee. Ms. Butte has won numerous awards for her work in the field of immigration law including the 2011 President’s Commendation for Outstanding Leadership by the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA). She is also an editor and author of several books and articles on immigration Law and is a regular speaker at AILA national and regional conferences.


J.D., Lewis and Clark Law School, May 1991
B.A., Carleton College, cum laude, May 1987
Admitted to practice
Oregon Supreme Court
Oregon Federal District Court
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals


Spanish (not fluent)

Professional memberships

American Immigration Lawyers Association, Director
Oregon Bar Association
International Law Students Association Board of Directors, Chairman